finding the Milano

I have been reading many blogs on the net. One woman, Neokalypso talks about her relationship being like a Milano cookie. Hmmm, I have to find them and try them. In any case, finding similar couples:
I must admit that Imran is not that interested in couples in similar nature. He is perfectly find to be the only intercultural couple … … at least that is what he says.
I always look for them. It makes me feel less of an inigma, sometimes.
Let’s see: who do we know?
There are the Browns. He is from Jamaica, and she is a small town American caucasion. I am not sure if it is the blind thing – or the fact that I was a single parent at the time. But, they are trying hard to “fit in.” And, they are both Christian, so really would not work.
I don’t know any Muslim/Christian couples.
I have searched for them.
Ok, another reason for me to move to a larger city.
Although, I do have some qualms about this because I hate not knowing who I am interacting with.
I mean: I know that the grocer also goes to church at a certain church and has children my age… …etc.
I won’t know that in a larger city.
But, I still might find intercultural/interfaith couples.
But, will the disability thing always divide us?
And, among the disability community, will the interfaith thing always divide us?
And, so on….
Sometimes, it just seems like we only belong in our own little world and not in any other group.
Oh, wait, there is L. M. who is blind and married an Indian. We got our dogs at the same school. But, he is sighted and during the beginning of Imran and my relationship, I tried connecting with her: asking her about Indian cooking, etc. I think that she was just too busy.
Maybe I should try again.

I have through about starting an intercultural couples group when I get to my capital city. I am suppose to move soon. Yes, “soon” is the right word because it is quite subjective. In any case, I would like to find couples with similar difficulties and experiences. Until I do, I’ll have to enjoy the blogs.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

