Conversion

01/10/2010
Ok, so as I am reading blogs like:
Gori Girl,
the Gori Wife Life,
Southern Masala
and Susie’s Big Adventure,
it occurs to me that if their husband is Muslim, the women have converted to Islam.
So, people might ask me why I have not converted to Islam, as my friendly bloggers have done.
Here it is in a nutshell,
my Christianity consists of the following:
Christ was perfect. Even Muslims believe that he was faltless. Of course, they believe what the Quran says about Jesus, not what the Bible says about him, and obviously, the Quran says considerably less than the bible says.
But, nonetheless, Christ was perfect. Now, there is the debate about “sonship” and I have read lengthy discussions and discertations on the subject.
But, what it all comes down to is this:
I want to behave and conduct my life as Christ conducted his life. I want to (as closely as I can) follow in his footsteps. And, I will continue to do so.
I will pray to God and Yes, I do acknowledge that we (The Christians, Muslims and the Jews) pray to the same God.
I will respect my Muslim life partner.
But, I will follow Christ.
And, we will live harmoniously because, Imran (I still will use his name and not an initial) respects my beliefs and supports my choices as well as how I behave and act in certain situations. and, I don’t try to control his beliefs or actions.
if/when we do disagree, I note that for the most part, most of our disagreements could be had between myself and other christians. so, it is not specifically religion that divides us, it is our own personal views.
In fact, I have found many Islamic passages that would support most of my actions. At least, those that are not connected to prayer, communion or church.
To convert would be to betray christ and I won’t do that. This is the bottom line.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Conversion”

  1. Sara Says:

    We both take part in each other’s faith, but neither has “converted,” but neither of us are strongly attached to the details of our religion (more focused on social justice, moral obligations to humankind, etc.). I thought we were going to have to root our kids within Hinduism (because it allows multiple perceptions of God as a fundamental principle, whereas garden variety Christianity claims unique truth) and hunt really hard for a church where they wouldn’t be told they needed to abandon any nonChristian beliefs. However, I’m really excited about the UU church, because we can root them in that and then teach both Christian and Hindu beliefs as “parts” of what we belief about life.

Leave a Reply

